Wheaton Hall of Fame

Wheaton has announced its latest batch of inductees to the Wheaton College Athletics Yowell Hall of Fame. This year’s class features a number of prominent figures through Wheaton’s athletic history, both on and off the field. 

Among the nominations is current Swimming and Diving Coach Barrett Roberts ’07. Roberts has received honors as NEWMAC Coach of the Year four-times over, and received considerable success as an athlete during his student tenure. 

Senior swimmer and Student Government Association President, Sophia Hatzikos ’20 spoke to Roberts’ position as “a role model and a mentor.” 

“His passion for the success of his swimmers as student athletes is amazing,” Hatzikos said. 

Legendary Wheaton softball player Randi Carine ’97 received a Hall of Fame nod on behalf of her stellar individual and team success during her time with the program. 

Statistically, Carine places within the top 5 for a wide variety of categories. These include batting average, extra-base hits, slugging percentage, on-base percentage, and more. 

The softball program was equally successful in her time with the team, earning a trip to the NCAA College World Series in 1997 and placing third.

Three former track and field athletes are receiving inductions in this class: Angela Mullins ’00, Rob Tyson ’01 and Tenille Johnson ’01. 

Both Mullins and Johnson have been inducted previously on behalf of their role on the dominant track and field programs of the early millennium. 

Mullins earned significant individual honors across a variety of events. She was named NEWMAC Athlete of the Year in 1999. 

Johnson received considerable individual success as well as a part of the several national championship teams she contributed to. Johnson received NCAA All-American honors 21 times throughout her tenure and was a national champion on three occasions. 

Tyson received Wheaton College’s Male Athlete of the Year distinction his senior year. He received all-conference honors six times during his time at Wheaton and became a national champion in the long jump twice in 2000. 

Former softball coach, Gina Loudenburg, is the other coach represented in this year’s ceremony. Loundenberg helped produce two College World Series berths in her 18 year tenure, finishing third in both 1997 and 2001. 

Athletes under Loudenburg received numerous accolades, including 15 All-American selections and over 100 regional honors. Loudenburg herself, was named National Fastpitch Coaches Association regional coach of the year four times. 

The final inductee this season is the 2006 baseball team, which achieved a record 42-10 record and reached the College World Series for the first time in program history. The 2006 season fostered highlights such as a 24 game winning streak and a playoff run that saw the baseball team outscored their opponents 24-14 over five games.